12 naturalized players in FIBA EuroBasket

12 naturalized players are expected to participate in the 2022 FIBA EuroBasket, which will take place in September (1-18).

FIBA allows national teams to have one naturalized player in their respective rosters. So far, half of the participating teams will have one such player in their team.

A naturalized player is a player that obtains their passport afterwards, but can still play with the national team and would be considered a ‘naturalized’ player by FIBA rather than a local.

In this competition, a few EuroLeague stars, like Shane Larkin (Anadolu Efes) and Lorenzo Brown (Maccabi Tel-Aviv) will play as naturalized players.

- Advertisement -

Here is the list with the 12 naturalized players that will compete in the EuroBasket, based on the current preliminary rosters:

John Petrucceli (Italy), Lorenzo Brown (Spain), Shane Larkin (Turkey), Mike Tobey (Slovenia), Dee Bost (Bulgaria), Kendrick Perry (Montenegro), Thad McFadden (Georgia), AJ Slaughter (Poland), John Roberson (Bosnia), Germany (Nick Weiler-Babb), Tyler Dorsey* (Greece), Mohamed Kherrazi (Netherlands)

*He didn’t hold a Greek passport before the age of 16, so he is considered a naturalized player

For all FIBA EuroBasket news as we are heading close to the tip-off of the tournament, click here.

Related articles

Share article

Latest articles

Transfers and Rosters


Subscribe to stay updated.